United and American Issue Travel Waivers For This Weekend’s Winter Weather

Mar 18, 2017

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Update 3/18/17 5:15pm: Southwest also has travel waivers in effect — you can find the complete list of cities below.

Much of the US got socked with heavy snow last weekend from Winter Storm Stella, and while most of those areas are having a much nicer Saturday and Sunday, there is some additional snow and precipitation expected in parts of the Northeast and Great Lakes regions this weekend.

Some areas of the Northeast may get up to 6 inches of snow. Image courtesy of weather.com.

While many airlines have not issued travel waivers this time around, both United and American are offering the option to rebook without fees if you’re flying on either of those carriers though a significant swath of cities.

These cities are covered by American and/or United travel waivers this weekend. Image courtesy of gcmap.com.

Remember, if you can’t delay your itinerary, airlines aren’t going to be responsible for paying for your meals or hotels in the case of weather-related delays/cancellations. But some top cards have flight delay/cancellation insurance that can reimburse you for weather issues, including the Citi Prestige ($500 per passenger for 3+ hour delay), the Chase Sapphire Reserve ($500 per ticket for 6+ hour or overnight delay) and Chase Sapphire Preferred ($500 per ticket for 12+ hour or overnight delay).

As of this writing, here are the available travel waivers on American and United for today and Sunday:

American Airlines

American has issued a travel waiver for those flying to, from or through these cities on March 18-19:

  • Akron, Ohio (CAK)
  • Albany, New York (ALB)
  • Allentown, Pennsylvania (ABE)
  • Bangor, Maine (BGR)
  • Boston, Massachusetts (BOS)
  • Buffalo, New York (BUF)
  • Burlington, Vermont (BTV)
  • Cleveland, Ohio (CLE)
  • Detroit, Michigan (DTW)
  • Erie, Pennsylvania (ERI)
  • Harrisburg, Pennsylvania (MDT)
  • Hartford, Connecticut (BDL)
  • Ithaca, New York (ITH)
  • Long Island, New York (ISP)
  • Manchester, New Hampshire (MHT)
  • Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts (MVY)
  • Nantucket, Massachusetts (ACK)
  • Newark, New York (EWR)
  • New Haven, Connecticut (HVN)
  • New York, New York (JFK)
  • New York, New York (LGA)
  • New Windsor, New York (SWF)
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (PHL)
  • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (PIT)
  • Portland, Maine (PWM)
  • Providence, Rhode Island (PVD)
  • Rochester, New York (ROC)
  • Scranton, Pennsylvania (AVP)
  • State College, Pennsylvania (SCE)
  • Syracuse, New York (SYR)
  • Toledo, Ohio (TOL)
  • White Plains, New York (HPN)
  • Williamsport, Pennsylvania (IPT)

You must have bought your ticket by March 17. Rebook travel anytime between March 17-21. You can’t change your origin or destination city. Must rebook in same class or pay the difference.


United has issued a travel waiver for those flying to, from or through these cities on March 18-19:

  • Albany, NY (ALB)
  • Allentown, PA (ABE)
  • Bangor, ME (BGR)
  • Boston, MA (BOS)
  • Buffalo, NY (BUF)
  • Erie, PA (ERI)
  • Harrisburg, PA (MDT)
  • Hartford, CT (BDL)
  • Ithaca, NY (ITH)
  • Manchester, NH (MHT)
  • New York-Kennedy, NY (JFK)
  • New York-LaGuardia, NY (LGA)
  • New York-Newark, NJ (EWR)
  • Philadelphia, PA (PHL)
  • Pittsburgh, PA (PIT)
  • Portland, ME (PWM)
  • Providence, RI (PVD)
  • Rochester, NY (ROC)
  • State College, PA (SCE)
  • Syracuse, NY (SYR)
  • Toronto, ON, CA (YYZ)
  • White Plains, NY (HPN)
  • Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, PA (AVP)

The change fee and any difference in fare will be waived for new United flights departing on or before March 22, 2017, as long as travel is rescheduled in the same cabin (any fare class) and between the same cities as originally ticketed.​​


Southwest has issued a travel waiver for those flying to, from or through these cities on March 18-19:

  • Albany (ALB)
  • Akron-Canton (CAK)
  • Boston (BOS)
  • Buffalo (BUF)
  • Cleveland (CLE)
  • Detroit (DTW)
  • Hartford (BDL)
  • Long Island MacArthur (ISP)
  • Manchester (MHT)
  • New York LaGuardia (LGA)
  • Newark (EWR)
  • Philadelphia (PHL)
  • Pittsburgh (PIT)
  • Portland (PWM)
  • Providence (PVD)
  • Rochester (ROC)

Customers who want to alter their travel plans may rebook in the original class of service or travel standby (within 14 days of their original date of travel between the original city-pairs and in accordance with the airline’s accommodation procedures) without paying any additional charge.

Other Airlines

As of this writing, the remaining major US airlines — Delta, Frontier, JetBlue, Spirit and Virgin America — have not issued any travel waivers, but we will update this post if new information becomes available.

Featured image courtesy of Sean Proctor/The Boston Globe via Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.