All 130 countries and territories that are on the UK’s travel amber list

Aug 27, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Editor’s note: This story has been updated with new information.

Travel has officially returned. As of 17 May, Britons can travel abroad again for nonessential reasons.

The government is currently using a traffic light system, which categorises destinations based on their coronavirus risk level: green for low-risk destinations, amber for medium-risk destinations and red for the highest-risk destinations.

New to The Points Guy? Check out our beginner’s guide and subscribe to our daily newsletter.

You can check here for more information about what each classification means. But in short, green list arrivals will not have to quarantine for 10 days. They will, however, have to take a COVID-19 test prior to departure and one within two days of arriving back in England. Red list arrivals will have to pre-book and undergo a 10-day quarantine in a government-approved hotel, costing £2,250 for one adult.

Amber list arrivals fall in between. Non-vaccinated travellers who arrive in England from an amber list destination will need to have a negative pre-departure COVID-19 test result, which can be from a lateral flow device. Additionally, they will need to self-isolate for 10 days at home. Before their travel, they will need to pre-book a COVID-19 testing package through the government and take a PCR test on days two and eight of their quarantine.

As of 4 a.m. on 19 July, however, fully vaccinated travellers who have received both doses of their vaccine in the U.K. will no longer need to quarantine on return to England from an amber country.  Travellers under 18 will no longer need to quarantine on return from amber countries. The move effectively extends the green list for fully vaccinated U.K. tourists.

Related: What kind of COVID-19 test do I need to travel and how much does it cost?

Non-vaccinated amber arrivals who are subject to quarantine are also eligible for England’s Test to Release scheme. With that, amber arrivals must quarantine for five full days. After their fifth day of quarantine they can purchase and take an additional PCR test. If the test returns a negative result, they can forgo the rest of their quarantine period, although they will still need to take the day-eight test — even though they’ve already exited quarantine.

Every three weeks, the government said it will review the countries on its green list. It will also implement a “watch list” for travellers to know if a country is near a move from one level to another. For example, a “green watchlist” will show if a country is at risk of moving from green to amber.

Related: Will my travel insurance cover a holiday to an amber country this summer?

See the following other lists for the countries in the green and red categories:

Here are the 130 countries and territories currently on the amber list as of 4 a.m. on 30 August, noting that, until that date, the most recent moves will remain on the respective green and red lists:

In This Post


  • Algeria
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Morocco
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Réunion
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • South Sudan
  • Togo
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen

Americas and Caribbean

  • Aruba
  • The Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Curaçao
  • El Salvador
  • Greenland
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Maarten
  • St Martin and St Barthélemy
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • United States of America


  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • North Korea
  • The Occupied Palestinian Territories
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Turkmenistan
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam

Australia and Pacific Islands

  • Cook Islands, Tokelau and Niue
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Caledonia
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Wallis and Futuna


  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Balearic Islands
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece (including islands)
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Luxembourg
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal (excluding Madeira and the Azores, which are green)
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine

Featured photo by Roberto Moiola/Sysaworld/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.