4 countries removed from travel corridors list, no destinations added

Sep 24, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

As we finish a week filled with new restrictions around the U.K., the government is also changing where we can go abroad without quarantine on return. On Thursday, the government announced changes to England’s travel corridors list, meaning you won’t be able to travel to destinations that have been removed without quarantining for 14 days on return to England.

Beginning Saturday, Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and Curacao have been removed from England’s travel corridors list. At the same time, no countries have been added to the travel corridors list.

Sign up to The Points Guy daily newsletter for more travel news!

Transport Secretary Grant Schapps made the announcement on his Twitter that as of 4 a.m. on Saturday, 26 September, travellers entering England from Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and Curacao will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. The restriction applies even to British nationals who are currently abroad on holiday.

RelatedWhat is considered essential travel vs. non-essential travel during coronavirus restrictions?

This week didn’t see adjustments to the travel corridors list at a regional level. Two weeks ago, the government unveiled its regional corridor approach. With it, the government can make decisions based on regions — like islands — rather than placing or removing an entire country from the list.

For example, while travellers can still go to mainland Greece and some Greek Islands without having to quarantine on return to England, seven islands now require a quarantine. Passengers returning to England from Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos have to quarantine.

Last week, the government removed mainland Slovenia and Guadeloupe from the travel corridors list, while at the same time adding Thailand and Singapore.

It’s worth noting that these changes apply to travellers arriving in England, not the whole of the U.K. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have largely introduced their own sets of travel corridors, which can differ from that of England’s.

The government has said several times that it’s keeping its travel corridor list under review constantly. At any moment, the government could add or remove countries from its list.

Featured photo by NanoStockk/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.