EU Digital COVID Certificates now live

Jun 2, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

There is major news in the push to open Europe to tourism: Seven European Union countries have unveiled and are already using EU Digital COVID Certificates (formerly called “green passports“) as of Tuesday, 2 June 2021.

The New York Times reported on Tuesday that seven countries are using these passports. Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia and Poland made the certificates available to their citizens Tuesday. They are reportedly already being used for travel. All 27 member nations of the EU should have the vaccine passports available as of 1 July 2021.

Digital International Certificate of Covid-19 Vaccination. The certificate indicates that the holder has been vaccinated against Coronavirus Covid-19 (Image by courtneyk/Getty Images)

Sign up to receive the daily TPG newsletter for more travel news!

Also called “Digital Green Certificates (DGC),” they are designed to provide proof of vaccination against COVID-19, that the user has received a negative test result or recovered from COVID-19.

The DGC will allow citizens of EU countries free movement around their own country, as well as travel abroad to other countries within the EU. The European Commission has also said it will include non-EU Member States, such as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland but not the United Kingdom. The DGC is supposed to be available for free in digital or paper format.

The European Union government is also asking member countries to waive testing and quarantine requirements for those who are vaccinated, have recently recovered from coronavirus or have negative test results. Each member country can set its own rules.

The EU is calling June a “warm-up phase,” where the certificates are voluntary, with 1 July being the official kick-off. Some countries, such as Greece, have already made clear that they intend to welcome Brits in. However, others, such as France, have recently implemented new restrictions on British travellers in light of the spread of a new variant of the virus.

Featured image of the Acropolis at sunset, Athens, Greece by sborisov/Getty Images

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.