Slovenia and Guadeloupe removed from travel corridors list, 2 countries added

Sep 17, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Another week brings more changes to England’s travel corridors list. On Thursday, the government announced that it’s removing Slovenia and Guadeloupe from its travel corridors list. At the same time, the government is adding Singapore and Thailand to the list, making travel to the Asian countries more accessible.

Sign up to The Points Guy daily newsletter for more travel news!

Transport Secretary Grant Schapps made the announcement on his Twitter that as of 4 a.m. on Saturday, 19 September, travellers entering England from Slovenia and Guadeloupe will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. The restriction applies even to British nationals who are currently abroad on holiday.

Additionally, as of that time, travellers entering England from Singapore and Thailand will no longer have to quarantine for 14 days. Arrivals into England before Saturday morning are still required to quarantine.

RelatedWhat is considered essential travel vs. non-essential travel during coronavirus restrictions?

Last week, the government unveiled its newest approach to travel corridors by way of the regional additions. With it, the government can make decisions based on regions — like islands — rather than placing or removing an entire country from the list.

For example, while travellers can still go to mainland Greece and some Greek Islands without having to quarantine on return to England, seven islands now require a quarantine. Passengers returning to England from Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos have to quarantine.

Last week, the government removed mainland Portugal, French Polynesia, Reunion and Hungary from the travel corridors list, while at the same time adding Sweden. However, while mainland Portugal is no longer a travel corridor country, two popular holiday island destinations are. Passengers can still travel to Madeira and the Azores without having to quarantine on their return to England.

It’s worth noting that these changes apply to travellers arriving in England, not the whole of the U.K. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have largely introduced their own sets of travel corridors, which can differ from that of England’s.

The government has said several times that it’s keeping its travel corridor list under review constantly. At any moment, the government could add or remove countries from its list.

Featured photo by Marco Bottigelli/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.