All 43 countries that are on the UK’s travel red list

May 7, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Editor’s note: This story has been updated with the latest information.

The U.K. has banned travellers coming from some countries in an effort to cut back on the likelihood of importing new, more contagious variants of the novel coronavirus.

Sign up to receive the daily TPG UK newsletter for more travel news!

The ban applies to those who have been in or transited the banned countries in the past 10 days. It does not, however, apply to British and Irish Nationals as well as third-country nationals who have residence rights in the U.K.

While eligible travellers will be allowed to enter the U.K., they must self-isolate for 10 days in government-supervised hotel accommodations. The hotel quarantine measure applies to all arrivals from travel ban countries and costs £1,750 for a solo adult traveller. The cost of the package includes accommodation, food and drink, testing whilst in quarantine, transport to and from the airport and security.

Related: Everything you need to know about the UK’s hotel quarantine

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said that the government is “continuing to monitor COVID-19 rates and new strains of the virus across the globe.” It’s possible that as more strains appear, the U.K. may add more destinations to this list of banned countries.

And, much like the travel corridors in place before they were suspended, this list can change at any moment. Most recently, Shapps announced that the Maldives, Turkey and Nepal have been added to the red list as part of his green list announcement on 7 May.

The U.K. now requires that all travellers coming from abroad must have a negative COVID-19 test result in order to board their flight. The eligible test must have been taken no more than 72 hours prior to scheduled departure. If the passenger arrives in the U.K. without a negative test result, they could be subject to an immediate £500 fine.

Related: Hotel quarantine, 3 COVID-19 tests and more: Everything you need to know about travelling to the UK

Also on 18 January, the U.K. suspended its travel corridor scheme. As such, all travellers arriving in the U.K. from abroad will have to undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine, regardless of where they’re coming from. Additionally, all quarantining travellers are required to take two additional COVID-19 tests on days two and eight of their quarantine. They must book a testing kit prior to travelling.

On 7 May, Shapps announced that non-essential travel will be allowed to resume from 17 May. As of that date, arrivals to England from the green list countries will not need to quarantine for 10 days.

Passengers coming from a travel ban country cannot test out of a full 10-day quarantine by way of the Test to Release scheme in England. For those who can, a passenger must quarantine for a full five days. After their fifth day of quarantine, they can elect to pay for a private COVID-19 test and await the result. If it produces a negative test result, the traveller can forgo the rest of their quarantine. However, they will still have to take the final COVID-19 test on day eight of being back in the country.

All passengers, regardless of their nationality or where they’re coming from, still are required to fill out a passenger locator form before they arrive in the U.K.

See a full list of the 43 banned countries below.

In This Post


  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela


  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates

Featured photo by Kirsy O’Connor – PA Images via Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.