Turkey and 2 other destinations removed from travel corridor list, none added

Oct 1, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

As we enter October, the list of countries we can visit without having to worry about quarantine for 14 days on return to England continues to dwindle. As has been the case for the past several weeks, on Thursday just after 5 p.m., the government announced the latest changes to England’s travel corridors scheme.

This week, the government announced that Turkey, Poland, Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba have been removed from the list, meaning that you’ll soon have to quarantine for 14 days on return to England. Additionally, the government added no countries to the travel corridor list.

Sign up to The Points Guy daily newsletter for more travel news!

Transport Secretary Grant Schapps made the announcement on his Twitter that as of 4 a.m. on Saturday, 3 October, travellers entering England from Turkey, Poland, Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. The restriction applies even to British nationals who are currently abroad on holiday.

Schapps said that data from Poland showed that test positivity has nearly doubled from 3.9% to 5.8%.

RelatedWhat is considered essential travel vs. non-essential travel during coronavirus restrictions?

This week didn’t see adjustments to the travel corridors list at a regional level. Three weeks ago, the government unveiled its regional corridor approach. With it, the government can make decisions based on regions — like islands — rather than placing or removing an entire country from the list.

For example, while travellers can still go to mainland Greece and some Greek Islands without having to quarantine on return to England, seven islands now require a quarantine. Passengers returning to England from Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos have to quarantine.

Last week, the government removed Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and Curacao from the travel corridors list, while at the same time adding no new countries to the list.

It’s worth noting that these changes apply to travellers arriving in England, not the whole of the U.K. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have largely introduced their own sets of travel corridors, which can differ from that of England’s.

The government has said several times that it’s keeping its travel corridor list under review constantly. At any moment, the government could add or remove countries from its list.

Featured photo by Ayhan Altun/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.