Uber to Deactivate Accounts of Riders With Low Ratings

May 30, 2019

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

You may soon lose access to the Uber platform thanks to a new policy set to be implemented by the rideshare giant. According to a press release from Uber, riders with low passenger ratings will be at risk of account deactivation, just as drivers are now. The company did not directly state when rider deactivations would begin, nor if it would be possible for riders to reactivate their account down the road.

“Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability,” Kate Parker, the head of Uber’s Safety Brand and Initiatives said in a press release. “Drivers have long been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city. While we expect only a small number of riders to ultimately be impacted by ratings-based deactivations, it’s the right thing to do.”

While Uber did not confirm the threshold at which riders would face deactivation, leaked documents cited by Business Insider in 2015 pointed to 4.6 (out of 5) being the point at which Uber would “start considering kicking [a] driver off the system.” Average driver scores in a certain city are taken into account when determining the threshold at which drivers could lose access to the app.

Riders with low scores will not immediately lose access to the rideshare service.
Riders with low scores will not immediately lose access to the rideshare service.

Before Uber deactivates a rider’s account, the rider will receive notifications within Uber’s app alerting them to their low score. The app will also provide tips for being a more respectful rider, giving a person “several opportunities to improve their rating prior to losing access to the Uber apps.” The use of “apps” indicates that this will impact all Uber services, including Uber Eats and Jump, the company’s electric bike share program.

Uber will roll out rider deactivations, starting with the US and Canada as part of its larger initiative to implement an updated and simplified set of Community Guidelines. Uber did not state whether or not elite members of the ridesharing platform’s loyalty program would be exempt, nor if there would be an appeal process for those who believe they’ve been unfairly dinged.

Uber’s rider deactivations are part of a larger initiative to implement new community guidelines and standards. (Image via Uber)
Uber’s rider deactivations are part of a larger initiative to implement new community guidelines and standards. (Image via Uber)

Riders wishing to check to their score can do so within the app at any time. Simply tap the three bars in the top left-hand corner of the app to open the app’s menu. The rider’s current score is directly below the rider’s name.

Featured image by PAU BARRENA/AFP/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.