England adds 16 countries and territories to green list, moves 6 to red and confirms no quarantine for fully vaccinated British amber arrivals

Jun 24, 2021

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

On Thursday afternoon, Grant Shapps announced that England has added Malta and several other countries to its green list.

The full list of countries and territories is as follows: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Balearic Islands (including Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca and Formentera), Barbados, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Madeira, Malta, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Additionally, Israel and Jerusalem have been added to the green watchlist, meaning they could soon turn amber.

Additionally, England has added six countries to its red list: Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Haiti, Mongolia, Tunisia and Uganda.

These changes take effect as of 4 a.m. on 30 June.

All countries and territories that are on the UK’s green list
All countries and territories that are on the UK’s amber list
All countries and territories that are on the UK’s red list

Shapps also announced that as of later this summer, fully vaccinated U.K. residents will not have to quarantine when returning from amber countries. The government will set out further details later next month.

Earlier on Thursday afternoon, the governments of Northern Ireland and Scotland added 16 countries and territories to their green list.

Related: Government will drop quarantine requirement for fully vaccinated amber arrivals

The majority of the world’s countries still remain on the amber list, which requires that travellers quarantine for 10 days on return to the U.K. and take two pre-booked COVID-19 tests whilst in quarantine. Amber arrivals have the option to reduce the length of their quarantine if they arrive in England and purchase an additional COVID-19 test using England’s Test to Release scheme. After five full days of quarantine, they can take the third PCR test. If it returns a negative result, they can forgo the rest of their quarantine period, though they will still need to take the pre-booked day-eight test. That will change for fully vaccinated Brits later this summer.

Red arrivals, meanwhile, continue to face the strictest requirements. As of 30 June, there will be a total of 56 countries on the red list, following the addition of the seven previously mentioned countries. Only British nationals or third-country nationals with residency rights in the U.K. are allowed to enter the U.K., though they must pre-book and undergo a 10-day quarantine stay at a government-approved hotel.

The government first released its green list on 7 May. In the last round of changes to the green list, Portgual was moved from green to amber, drawing outrage from the travel industry because of the little warning given to travellers and the wider industry. With the move of Portugal to amber, there have since only been two countries that Brits can visit without quarantine on either end of their trip. That has changed with Thursday’s announcement.

Related: The 2 countries and territories you can visit from the UK without quarantine on either end

With that in mind, note that just because a destination is on the green list, that doesn’t mean it’s automatically an option for British travellers. The arrival country has to be willing to accept Brits, and each country will offer their own entry requirements. If you are interested in visiting a green-list country, check on its entry requirements to ensure that it will be open and accepting Brits. Australia, for example, which is on the green list, is not open to international travellers and isn’t expected to reopen its borders until at least 2022.

As a reminder, here’s a look at the requirements for each traffic light category, which travellers will have to abide by on their reentry to the U.K., noting that Test to Release only applies to England arrivals:

Previously, U.K. Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said that the government would review which countries are at each level of the traffic light system every three weeks. It’s also said that it will implement a “watch list” for travellers to know if a country is near a move from one level to another. For example, a “green watchlist” will show if a country is at risk of moving from green to amber.

In response to the announcement, BA CEO Sean Doyle said: “While we welcome the additions to the green list, it’s essential we get travel back up and running as soon as possible. We cannot afford another missed summer. There are jobs at stake, Britons separated from family members and we cannot afford to allow the success of our vaccine programme to be wasted.

“The plans to allow vaccinated travellers to move freely this summer are critical and we would urge Government to work urgently with the aviation industry to get this in place.”

Featured photo by Alex Tihonov/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.