UK government removes 3 countries from travel corridor, adds 2 soon exempt from quarantine

Aug 6, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

Another three countries have been removed from the U.K.’s travel corridors list, while at the same time, it added two more. On Thursday, the U.K. government announced that it was removing Andorra, Belgium and the Bahamas from its travel corridor following a sharp increase in coronavirus cases, while it was adding Brunei and Malaysia.

All travellers arriving in England from one of the three removed countries as of 4 a.m. on 8 August will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days. Regardless of the nationality of the traveller or the mode of transport by which they arrived in England, they will be required to self-isolate for two weeks.

Get coronavirus travel updates. Stay on top of industry impacts, flight cancellations, and more.

As of 11 August, the U.K. will add Brunei and Malaysia to its travel corridor. Previously, both countries already appeared on the FCO’s list of countries that it deemed safe to travel to.

Additionally, as of 8 August, Andorra, Belgium and the Bahamas no longer appear on the FCO’s list of countries that it deems safe to travel to. Therefore, the government advises against any non-essential travel to the countries.

If you decide to travel to Andorra, Belgium or the Bahamas, not only will you have to quarantine for 14 days on your return to England, but you will also be travelling against government advice. In most cases, this means that your travel insurance will be rendered invalid, should anything happen on your trip.

Related: What happens if you ignore government advice to travel right now?

The removal of Andorra, Belgium and the Bahamas, along with the addition of Brunei and Malaysia means there are 77 countries that now appear on the U.K. government’s travel corridors list when the changes take effect.

The move comes less than two weeks after the government abruptly removed Spain from both the travel corridor and FCO lists. Shortly thereafter, Luxembourg was also removed from the list of countries that do not need to quarantine on arrival in England.

Related: All 77 countries and territories that are currently on the UK’s travel corridor list

“The government has made consistently clear it will take decisive action if necessary to contain the virus, including removing countries from the travel corridors list rapidly if the public health risk of people returning from a particular country without self-isolating becomes too high”, the government said in a statement.

If you had travel booked to Andorra, Belgium or the Bahamas in the coming days and weeks, be sure to check with your airline and accommodation providers to see what your options are.

Featured photo by Nora Carol Photography/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.