4 countries removed from travel corridors list, Sweden added

Sep 10, 2020

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

As of this weekend, Portugal — with the exception of the Azores and Madeira — Hungary, French Polynesia and Reunion will be removed from England’s travel corridor list. At the same time, the government will add Sweden to the travel corridors list, rendering international travel to the Scandinavian country more accessible for the time being. In other words, while Portugal is no longer a travel corridor country, not all parts of the country are included. You can still travel to Madeira and the Azores without having to quarantine on return to England.

Sign up to The Points Guy daily newsletter for more travel news!

Transport Secretary Grant Schapps made the announcement on his Twitter that as of 4 a.m. on Saturday, 12 September, travellers entering England from Portugal (not the Azores and Madeira), as well as Hungary, French Polynesia and Reunion will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. The restriction applies even to British nationals who are currently abroad on holiday.

Additionally, as of that time, travellers entering England from Sweden will no longer have to quarantine for 14 days. Arrivals into England before Saturday morning are still required to quarantine.

RelatedWhat is considered essential travel vs. non-essential travel during coronavirus restrictions?

Earlier this week, the government unveiled its plans for “regional travel corridors“. With it, the government has been able to offer more localised travel advice on international travel. Rather than outlining travel restrictions on an entire country, the government is now able to assess regions within a country that may be added or removed from the travel corridors list.

With the announcement of the regional travel corridors, Transport Secretary Grant Schapps announced that seven Greek Islands would be removed from the travel corridors list as of 9 September. While the country of Greece — including Athens and some islands like Kefalonia — remain accessible to English travellers without the need to quarantine on return, travellers returning to England from Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos now need to quarantine.

This week saw the announcement that while Portugal is being removed from the travel corridors list, some of its islands are not. For example, you won’t be able to visit Lisbon without having to quarantine on return, but you can still visit the Azores.

Prior to the announcement of regional travel corridors, the government had been reevaluating its travel corridor list every week. As of 22 August, Portugal was added as an approved travel corridor country, while at the same time the government removed Croatia, Austria and Trinidad & Tobago.

It’s worth noting that these changes apply to travellers arriving in England, not the whole of the U.K. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have largely introduced their own sets of travel corridors, which can differ from that of England’s.

The government has said several times that it’s keeping its travel corridor list under review constantly. At any moment, the government could add or remove countries from its list.

Featured photo by Alexander Spatari/Getty Images.

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.